Swimming a scarf

swimming a scarfIt occurred to me during my 34th length of front crawl that I have been spending an inordinate amount of time counting very slowly…

Whether it be rows of knitting or lengths of swimming I seem to spend a lot of my time going back and forth and counting the progress. (Except with swimming I have to keep it in my head rather than marking off rows on anything I can find, making our living room look like a prison cell covered in hash marks of 5..) Maybe this is why swimming, out of all the activities I have tried to maintain, has succeeded where karate failed.. I am programmed to the same rhythms – back/forth, left/right, breathe (important also for tense knitting) and in fact the motion of front crawl is not a million miles away from creating garter stitch.

With that in mind I have probably swum the worlds longest scarf..

This entry was posted in YARN. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

